My Tree

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Happy Place.”  …Where do you go when you need to think? What do you do when you need to restore yourself…”

I’ve known this tree since I was fifteen. I happened on it hiking with my friend, Kathleen. We climbed (unnecessarily, as it happens) a rock face and landed right at the base of this tree. It spoke volumes to me. It was old, gnarled, generally messed up but there was, back then, one branch rising from the ancient twisted trunk. I found the tree to be really inspiring; if it could hang on through whatever it had hung on through, I could endure the chaos in my life and the sorrow in my family and all the broken hearts of adolescence.

Nearly fifty years have passed since that first visit and the lovely straight branch isn’t looking so good right now (neither am I, not compared to 15!) but it is still there, though people have cut more bits from it. I can ALWAYS find it, even after decades.

Me and Cody and my tree

Cody O’Dog and me at my tree, July, 2010

Dusty:Peak:Me

Dusty and me at my tree, November 2014 Pikes Peak in the background.

13 thoughts on “My Tree

Leave a Reply

