Backing Off, the Voice of the INFJ

OK, folks. I’m usually pretty healthy (except for a couple of chronic conditions for which I’m already treated) but these past 12 months, I’ve been sick a LOT. I got to thinking, “What’s gone on during this period?” and DUH. So I did a little research on the connection…

I found many articles — some in mainstream publications such as Psychology Today, some in a little more artsy-fartsy publications, such as one which (quoted and linked below) that, I think, describes what I’ve been fighting since the debates started.

I’m done. I can’t change what happened. I have a lot of feelings about it that a lot of the people around me don’t share but that, at least, is normal after an election. There’s really nothing I can do. I don’t want to be sick any more and if this emotional turmoil is adding to it, wearing down my immune system, or whatever, I don’t want it. I don’t think I want to go away from social media (too much good comes to me from it) but I might back away from people who post a lot of political stuff even though I might love them to pieces otherwise. I’ve been drawn into too many ugly “conversations”.

Anyway, here’s the article and if you happen to be like me — introverted and highly empathetic, and you just don’t feel good, it might be helpful to you, too.

Here are the main points:

Here are some tips to heal from the US election:

– Separate yourself from the emotions. Recognize that even though these sensations are occurring within you, they are not YOU. Knowing this will help you release what is not yours, and move on.

– Spend as much time as possible in nature. Nature is the empath’s primary source of healing and peace. It’s best if you can find a place where there are no other people.

– Express your emotions through your favorite art form. Empaths are naturally highly creative. The paintbrush, pen, and stage are our greatest weapons against emotional overload.

– Breathe. Deeply. Let the air and emotions circulate until they evaporate.

– Stop feeding the monster. The news, with all its conflict, sensationalism, and violence, is highly upsetting to empaths. It might be tempting to read all the outraging articles, CNN clips, tweets, and Facebook posts about the US election, but it will only make things worse. Take a social media hiatus for a while.

– Do your “woo woo” rituals to the nth degree. Empaths are known for being drawn to the metaphysical. There is no shame in loving shamanism, chakras, and sage clearings. Now is the time to dip into your treasure chest of spiritual magic. (In my case that’s number 2 up there but with a bad cold I can’t go out there; you see my problem)

 Here’s another article, this from Psychology Today that I found interesting and somewhat less touchy-feely.
10 thoughts on “Backing Off, the Voice of the INFJ

  1. Yeah, if your feeling sick I’d avoid any kind of 24 hour news cycle. Probably not going to make you feel any better.

  2. The moment Garry stopped being ON the news, we stopped watching it. We began (again) at least sometimes during the election so we wouldn’t feel completely out of the loop, so to speak, but now that the nightmare has gotten so much worse, Garry has gone back to reading newspapers and i’ve gone back to reading selectively and avoiding anything that raises myh blood pressure. If news was bad for you before, it’s really lethal now.

    The rest of it is way too new age for me. I’m basically skeptical, pragmatic, and tired of people complaining about everything. Is there a name for that?

  3. I do like using odd things to make myself feel good. Surrounding myself/ house in light, for instance, calms me. Whatever brings you peace is good, Martha! I do think positive thinking is useful. After reading a book years ago, I think it was ‘The Power of Positive Thinking’, a quote I retained was, ‘By day and by night I’m being prospered in all of my interests.’ And then I give thanks. I feel the media can put me into a negative spin and I need to distance myself from time to time. I do think the new presidential situation can throw people into turmoil, just by being scared. I do hope that you can find your peace, Martha. ❤

    • One problem is that it is morbidly fascinating. In the first few months it was a circus but then one noxious, corrupt thing emerged and then another and another, all completely unbelievable. But all real. My friends are really upset, I’m sad and angry (finally “owned” my feelings) and I’ve tried to keep a distance, but it’s been impossible — well, very difficult. I’ve been shocked by the horrible way people have treated each other, too, but I get it. In a situation where you have no control, the edges fray. Thanks for mentioning that book. It is a good one and just what the doctor ordered for me right now.

      “Our happiness depends on the habit of mind we cultivate. So practice happy thinking every day. Cultivate the merry heart, develop the happiness habit, and life will become a continual feast.” ❤

  4. Right around election time, our business owner sent out an email reminding us to be mindful of each others political opinions, so no one said a word about anything to anyone. Only one person (my close friend and co-worker) said she did not vote because she just couldn’t. Now it is just a circus. The political cartoons are great, trump is, himself, a cartoon and I enjoy seeing everyone taking bets on if he will last 4 years. I’m an ISFP, so I just smile and nod. Yes, this is my country but what will be will be. Anyway, I still hope you feel better soon. 🙂

    • Circus is right. 😦 The little description of INFJ is right. People DO tell me their problems. People I barely KNOW tell me their problems, opinions, feelings — it probably made me a good teacher, but… After some thinking (soul-searching?) I realize that the people I like best are the ones who respect my boundaries, who understand there ARE boundaries. My two good friends in my town have not talked politics with me at all. I suspect we do not agree with each other, but we seem to know the truth that it doesn’t matter. What matters are tea parties and shoveling each others walks and going on short hikes and enjoying our time together.

Leave a Reply

